+61 499 021920

Komodo National Park History

Located in the center of the Indonesian archipelago, between the islands of Sumbawa and Flores, Komodo National Park was established in 1980. Initially the main purpose of the Park was to conserve the unique Komodo dragon (Varanus komodoensis) and its habitat. However, over the years, the goals for the Park have expanded to protecting its entire biodiversity, both terrestrial and marine. In 1986, the Park was declared a World Heritage Site and a Man and Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO, both indications of the Park’s biological importance.

Komodo National Park includes three major islands: Komodo, Rinca and Padar, as well as numerous smaller islands creating a total surface area (marine and land) of 1817km (proposed extensions would bring the total surface area up to 2,321km2). As well as being home to the Komodo dragon, the Park provides refuge for many otherĀ  notable terrestrial species such as the orange-footed scrub fowl, an endemic rat, and the Timor deer.

Beneath the Surface

The Park includes one of the richest marine environments including coral reefs, mangroves, seagrass beds, seamounts, and semi-enclosed bays. These habitats harbor more than 1,000 species of fish, some 260 species of reef-building coral, and 70 species of sponges. Dugong, sharks, manta rays, at least 14 species of whales, dolphins, and sea turtles also make Komodo National Park their home so it is no surprise that Komodo is a scuba divers bucket list location.

Scuba Diving Operators

Komodo has quite a large selection of operators offering services within the park including resort based and live aboard diving. Nomadic Scuba have teamed up with the only resort within the national park as a base location for our expeditions. Nip on over to our Expedition page to find out more and reserve your places.

Scuba Diving